Heather Ruhsam

Executive Director

Ashley Householder

Director of Exhibits and Programs

Katie Barker

Director of Finance & Business Operations

Hillary Keimig

Communications & Marketing Manager

Meagan MacLeod


Erin Paris

Visitor Service Associate

Andrew Golden

Public Relations / Media Contact

Board of Directors

Gary Jobson


Tom Stark


Sandra Snider Askew

Margaret D. Comfort

Charles A. Dana

Drew Freides

James Gubelmann

Sally Helme

Spike Lobdell

Richard Nugent

Andrew S. Rose

Frank Savage

Richard Jepsen


Tom Whidden


Christopher L. Otorowski


William Campbell

C. Richard D'Amato

Clayton Deutsch

Peter Gerard

Robert Haines, Jr.

Jamie Hilton

Byron Marchant

Pam Rorke Levy

Arthur Santry

J. Sands Yellott

Heather Ruhsam

Executive Director

Emeritus Board

John Beale

Mason Chrisman

David K. Elwell, Jr.

George R. Hinman, Jr.

Thomas Hubbell

Bruce Munro

H.P. (Sandy) Purdon

C. Crayton Walters, III

William Campbell

C. Richard D'Amato

Dick Franyo

David Houck

Sydney Johnson

Ewell C. Potts, III

Join Our Crew!

Watch this space for future opportunities!

Volunteer Opportunities

Volunteers are vital to the visitor experience at The Sailing Museum. Volunteer time, knowledge and enthusiasm are important contributions that support the museum’s mission and enrich the experience of everyone who passes through our doors.

Volunteers serve as ambassadors for the museum by greeting visitors and members, and assisting with exhibit and activity understanding.

Anyone interested in sharing their love of sailing and Newport is encouraged to join our volunteer corps at The Sailing Museum!

Quick Links

The Sailing Museum

365 Thames Street

Newport, RI 02840