National Sailing Hall of Fame

National Sailing Hall of Fame Class of 2011

Meet the Class of 2011 Inductees.

The first class of inductees were recognized on October 23, 2011 in ceremonies held at the San Diego Yacht Club. Fifteen all-star sailors make up this historic first-ever class of inductees.

“After years of planning, we are so pleased that the heroes of our sport are getting their long-overdue recognition,” said Dick Franyo, President of the NSHOF. “The National Sailing Center & Hall of Fame will be a place to honor these heroes and provide inspiration for all sailors – young and old.” The NSHOF has partnered with US Sailing and the U.S. Naval Academy, and is associated with the Herreshoff Marine Museum, Sailing World, the Maryland Department of Natural Resources, the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Water Trail, the Congressional Cup, Hudson River Community Sailing, Young Mariners Foundation and yacht clubs throughout the country in its efforts to recognize role models of outstanding achievement.

History was celebrated with the following inaugural inductees, representing the Class of 2011: US Sailing Disabled Sailing Team Coach and five-time Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year Betsy Alison; surfboard industry pioneer Hobie Alter; 1998 Whitbread Round the World Race winning skipper Paul Cayard; four-time America’s Cup winning skipper Dennis Conner; naval architect and America’s Cup winning skipper Ted Hood; sailor, author and Emmy-award winning sailing commentator Gary Jobson; 1972 Soling Olympic Gold Medalist Buddy Melges; 1968 Star Olympic Gold Medalist and founder of North Sails Lowell North; and America’s Cup winning helmsman and four-time Rolex Yachtsman of the Year Ted Turner.

The National Sailing Hall of Fame also honored the following Inductees posthumously: Transatlantic Race record setter Capt. Charles “Charlie” Barr; naval architect Capt. Nathanael G. Herreshoff; two-time America’s Cup winning skipper Emil “Bus” Mosbacher, Jr.; the first-ever singlehanded circumnavigator and noted writer Joshua Slocum; yacht designer Olin Stephens; and three-time America’s Cup winning skipper Harold S. Vanderbilt.

The National Sailing Center & Hall of Fame is a not-for-profit educational institution dedicated to preserving the history of the sport and its impact on American culture; honoring those who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing; the teaching of math, science and American history; inspiring and encouraging sailing development; and to providing an international landmark for sailing enthusiasts.

Induction Date:

October 22-23, 2011


San Diego Yacht Club
San Diego, CA

  • Elizabeth “Betsy” Gelentis Alison

  • Hobart “Hobie” Alter

  • Capt. Charles “Charlie” Barr

  • Paul Cayard

  • Dennis Conner

  • Nathanael “Capt. Nat” Herreshoff

  • Frederick “Ted” Emmart Hood

  • Gary Alan Jobson

  • Harry C. “Buddy” Melges

  • Emil “Bus” Mosbacher

  • Lowell Orten North

  • Joshua Slocum

  • Olin James Stephens II

  • Robert “Ted” Edward Turner

  • Harold “Mike” Stirling Vanderbilt

Sign up for our Newsletter

Check out our monthly newsletter that includes upcoming events, news and more.

"*" indicates required fields

The Sailing Museum and National Sailing Hall of Fame

The Sailing Museum & National Sailing Hall of Fame

365 Thames St.
Newport RI 02840

The Sailing Museum

National Sailing Hall of Fame

Buy Tickets