Honoring the Legends of the Sport

Sailing has been shaped by generations of individuals who have demonstrated the courage and conviction to plot their own courses, defy convention and redefine excellence. It is a sport that has evolved because of these unique individuals and The Sailing Museum provides a home to honor their achievements and make relevant and essential the values and sportsmanship that sailing embodies.

In the space that once served as the Press Headquarters for the America’s Cup, the legends of both the National Sailing Hall of Fame and America’s Cup Hall of Fame are celebrated. Come learn about their incredible achievements through exciting displays and interactive exhibits!

About the National Sailing Hall of Fame

The National Sailing Hall of Fame was founded in 2004 to honor individuals whose contributions have shaped sailing in the United States. Their achievements across sailing, contributor and technical categories have made a significant impact on the sport at the national and/or international level.

114 Inductees      

Over 200 Years of Sailing History

These are the men and women who have shaped sailing in America. We invite you to explore their stories and be inspired to leave your mark, too!


On Wednesday, July 12th the National Sailing Hall of Fame announced it’s 13th class of inductees.

NSHOF Events

About the America’s Cup Hall of Fame

© Dan Nerney

In 1992, the Herreshoff Marine Museum founded the America’s Cup Hall of Fame to honor individuals for their outstanding achievements related to the America’s Cup Competition. In partnership with The Sailing Museum, their stories come to Newport, RI.

Over ninety legendary America’s Cup sailors have been inducted into the Hall. Candidates eligible for consideration include members of the crew, designers, builders, syndicate leaders, supporters, chroniclers, and other individuals of merit.

Each nominee is judged on the basis of outstanding ability, international recognition, character, performance, and contributions to the sport.

For more stories and exhibits about the America’s Cup and the Hall of Fame – in particular, from the four decades of Herreshoff dominance between 1893 and 1934 – you can visit the Herreshoff Marine Museum/America’s Cup Hall of Fame in Bristol, RI.

America’s Cup Hall of Fame News

Ed Baird Inducted into America’s Cup Hall of Fame
Ed Baird is a two-time winner of the America’s Cup-as coach of Team New Zealand in 1995 and as helmsman of Team Alinghi in 2007.

ACHOF Events

Quick Links

The Sailing Museum

365 Thames Street

Newport, RI 02840