National Sailing Hall of Fame

National Sailing Hall of Fame Class of 2020

Meet the Class of 2020 Inductees.

The National Sailing Hall of Fame (NSHOF) celebrated its 10th annual induction in a virtual format on Saturday, September 12, 2020. While COVID-19 prevented everyone from gathering in person, the virtual platform allowed friends, family and a host of Hall of Famers and VIPs to join from across the country – and the world.

Nine individuals were honored during the event: James E. Buttersworth, Gordon “Sandy” Douglass, William K. Mattison, Robert B. Haines, Jr., David B. Perry, John P. Rousmaniere, Henry “Hoyle” and Diane Schweitzer; and Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient Briggs S. Cunningham, Jr.

Gary Jobson was pleased to be able to host a special ceremony for these important inductees in spite of a global pandemic. “These sailors embody a true commitment to excellence and provide inspiration for generations of sailors to come. In these challenging times, we were delighted by the response to our virtual induction ceremony. Hall of Famers, sponsors and guests rose to the occasion to make this year’s – albeit unusual – induction a very memorable one for our sailing heroes.”

Hall of Famers Vince Brun (2018), Peter Harken (2014), Stan Honey (2012), Bob Johnstone (2016), and Tom Whidden (2017) introduced their peers and welcomed them to the Hall as part of the celebration. Joining from home were fellow inductees Betsy Alison (2011), Bill Bentsen (2017), Malin Burnham (2016), Steve Colgate (2015) and JJ Fetter (2015). Heartfelt messages of stories were shared and the accomplishments of the new inductees lauded.

Also providing introductory and congratulatory remarks were Rhode Island Senator Sheldon Whitehouse, U.S. Sailing President Cory Sertl, Mystic Seaport Museum President and CEO Steve White, Herreshoff Marine Museum Founder Halsey Herreshoff and Thistle Class President Thomas Hubbell.

Induction Date:

September 12, 2020



  • James Edward Buttersworth

  • Briggs “Mr. C” Swift Cunningham, Jr.

  • Gordon K. Sandy Douglass

  • Robert Bentley Haines Jr.

  • William “Bill” Kroner Mattison

  • David “Dave” B. Perry

  • John Pierce Rousmaniere

  • Henry “Hoyle” & Diane Schweitzer

Sign up for our Newsletter

Check out our monthly newsletter that includes upcoming events, news and more.

"*" indicates required fields

The Sailing Museum and National Sailing Hall of Fame

The Sailing Museum & National Sailing Hall of Fame

365 Thames St.
Newport RI 02840

The Sailing Museum

National Sailing Hall of Fame

Buy Tickets